Monday, August 17, 2009

BBC's Heart of Saturday Night

Under the title Heart of Saturday Night, BBC Radio 4 is airing stories by Ian Rankin, AL Kennedy and Willy Vlautin insired by the music of Tom Waits.
All three stories explore the distinctive world created by the legendary musician – a sleazy world peopled by down-at-heel characters on the edge of society, or outcasts and deadbeats singing of loss and longing.
The first story, Come On Up To The House by distinguished Scottish author and stand-up comedian AL Kennedy, takes place in the wee small hours of the morning, when a man reaches out to a total stranger – who might be his last chance of salvation. It is read by Peter Capaldi.
Wednesday's story is Muriel by US novelist and singer-songwriter Willy Vlautin. When Whitey returns to his old neighbourhood bar after his breakdown, he can't help but notice how the regulars do their best to avoid mentioning his dead wife, Muriel. It is read by Ed Stoppard.

The final story on Thursday is Step Right Up by acclaimed Scottish writer and broadcaster Ian Rankin. A young Londoner is taken under the wing of a street market trader, known locally as Saviour, until a fatal stabbing forces him to question the morality of his mentor. The reader is to be confirmed

The Heart Of Saturday Night Episode 1-3
Tuesday 1 to Thursday 3 September
3.30-3.45 p.m. BBC RADIO 4

Source: BBC publicity


spice said...

Thanks for the info, that's very exciting!

Julie said...
This comment has been removed by the author.